Spaghetti Squash with Baked Meatballs – Gluten & Dairy Free!

I knew that I wanted to try a new recipe today for a marinara sauce and put it on top of spaghetti squash, but I also knew that if I did not give my husband and son some meatballs I would not have myself some happy campers.   I did not anticipate how delicious these BAKED meatballs were going to end up tasting!  I have been trying to avoid meat for the most part because of the added hormones.  Even if I get grass-fed and organic, it is still an animal that produced hormones naturally and for me with endometriosis it is something I need to be careful with – but that’s for another write up.

The recipe for the marinara sauce is from the cook book “One Part Plant” by Jessica Murnane and is seriously so easy.  I am actually still in shock at how easy it was to make.  The only thing I added was some oregano because I personally love me some oregano in my sauce!

 

So I then looked on my “boards” in Pinterest and I find that I have a recipe for baked meatballs that CLAIMS to be EASY and DELICIOUS.  I am normally skeptical of anything that says easy, but will always give it a shot.  I tweaked the recipe (as I normally do – people hate that!) to make it gluten and dairy free which was super easy to do!  Just changed the regular bread crumbs to gluten-free breadcrumbs and instead of using parmesan cheese I used nutritional yeast (if you have never heard of that before I will write up something on that another time but it is a FANTASTIC substitute for a cheesy flavor (non-dairy) and has a ton of nutrients – don’t get grossed out by the name!).  I had to taste one to see what they tasted like.  I think I then ended up eating like 4 – they were too good!!

Now, I’m not the best photographer and I am learning very slowly but I figure you won’t be too harsh on me.  I know this picture doesn’t look like the food would be absolutely amazing, but I can tell you this – my husband ate a huge portion and my son LOVED the meatballs and they are my toughest critics!

 

Leave a Reply

